More Information
ISBN: 9781839738555
Imprint: Langham Global Library
Format: Paperback
Dimensions (mm): 229 x 152 x 2
Publication Date: 31/03/2023
Pages: 44
Language: English

In Quest of the Rock - Discussion Guide

Peter’s Transformative Journey With Jesus


This discussion guide is available to purchase in print and ebook but is also available as a free PDF download. Click on the ‘eBook Sellers’ button for the download link.

From the monastic devotion of the church fathers and mothers to the spiritual disciplines we espouse today, the church has always searched for ways to deepen discipleship and to grow in Christ. In the book that this discussion guide complements, In Quest of the Rock, the author delves into the source material, exploring Peter’s transformation from fisherman to apostle through the power of relational encounter.

As readers are empowered to see their own journeys in the light of Peter’s, they will recognize their disappointments and unfulfilled aspirations as invitations into the reshaping and healing of their own hearts. This is a powerful resource for all who desire to grow in Christ, as well as those involved in the discipling of others.

Intended for small group settings, this accompanying discussion guide journeys through each chapter of the book, to deepen the reader’s understanding and encourage fruitful, challenging conversation.

Author Bios

Michael F. Kuhn

MICHAEL F. KUHN and his family were privileged to call France, Morocco, Egypt and Lebanon “home” for nearly thirty years. He has invested much of his life in cross-cultural discipleship. He holds a PhD in Muslim-Christian Relations from the Oxford Centre for Mission Studies, UK, and graduate degrees in Arabic language and literature, and theology. Mike serves through the International Theological Educational Network (ITEN) of the Evangelical Presbyterian Church as an author and teacher-mentor in the US, the Middle East and beyond.

Table of Contents

  1. Before You Begin
  2. Introduction: A Spiritually Formative Journey
  3. Prologue: Spiritual Formation
  4. 1 Facing the Shadow-Self
  5. 2 Stepping into Chaos
  6. 3 Awakening
  7. 4 Unveiling
  8. 5 Serendipity
  9. 6 The Unmasking
  10. 7 The Sifting
  11. 8 The Pursuit
  12. 9 Spiritual Reflexes: Part 1
  13. 10 Spiritual Reflexes: Part 2
  14. 11 The Reorientation
  15. 12 The Confrontation
  16. 13 The Legacy
  17. Epilogue 1: Going Deeper
  18. Epilogue 2: Peter’s Letters

Related Books

Related by Author

Related by Classification